Skip to content
OntApps

University of Toronto · St. George

Rotman Commerce (BCom)

Not establishedanalysisBusiness

Not established by the data.

HIGHEST-PRIORITY GAP. Rotman is an A&S admission category, and the one other A&S admission category in this dataset — Life Sciences — is documented as gating students a year in through the POSt system. That parallel is a reason to suspect a gate here, not evidence of one. Do not classify this until an official Rotman or A&S page is checked.

A supplementary application is required, due Feb 1, 2027.

Supplementary app
Required
Next deadline
119 days left
Final application deadline (OUAC)
Enrolment
OUInfo lists enrollment as 0 / N/A → no published seat count
Faculty
Rotman School of Management + Faculty of Arts & Science

OUAC code

  • Rotman Commerce

Verified 2026-09-15/2026-09-17. Confirm against the university's own page before you act.

01

When you're evaluated

Not establishedanalysis

Not established by the data.

Rotman Commerce is an admission category within Arts & Science, structurally the same as Life Sciences — but the data does not say whether there is a competitive specialist or POSt entry after first year.

HIGHEST-PRIORITY GAP. Rotman is an A&S admission category, and the one other A&S admission category in this dataset — Life Sciences — is documented as gating students a year in through the POSt system. That parallel is a reason to suspect a gate here, not evidence of one. Do not classify this until an official Rotman or A&S page is checked.

What this rests on (1)
  • How to actually apply: OUAC → University of Toronto → Faculty of Arts & Science, St. George → then select Rotman Commerce from the program list. It is an A&S admission category, not a separate faculty application.

    programs.json → uoft-rotman-commerce.admission_structure

02

Timeline and deadlines

  • Early consideration application deadline ("strongly encouraged")

    50 days left
  • Early consideration supplemental (and documents) deadline

    74 days left
  • Final application deadline (OUAC)

    119 days left
  • Final supplemental + documents deadline

    136 days left
  • Offers made in monthly rounds

    Feb – late May 2027

    Not yet published
  • Residence (StarRez) application for the housing guarantee

    194 days left
  • Accept your offer to keep the housing guarantee

    256 days left

Dates close to other programs

  • Waterloo Engineering OUAC application deadline, Jan 15, 2027 (same day as Final application deadline (OUAC))
  • U of T TrackOne OUAC application deadline, Jan 15, 2027 (same day as Final application deadline (OUAC))
  • U of T TrackOne Complete OSP and required documents — final deadline, Jan 15, 2027 (same day as Final application deadline (OUAC))
  • U of T Core 8 / EngSci OUAC application deadline, Jan 15, 2027 (same day as Final application deadline (OUAC))
  • U of T Core 8 / EngSci Complete OSP and required documents — final deadline, Jan 15, 2027 (same day as Final application deadline (OUAC))
  • McMaster Engineering I OUAC application deadline, Jan 15, 2027 (same day as Final application deadline (OUAC))
  • McMaster iBioMed OUAC application deadline, Jan 15, 2027 (same day as Final application deadline (OUAC))
  • McMaster BHSc OUAC application deadline, Jan 15, 2027 (same day as Final application deadline (OUAC))
  • Western Medical Sciences January 15 equal-consideration deadline (full-time undergrad), Jan 15, 2027 (same day as Final application deadline (OUAC))
  • Western Health Sciences January 15 equal-consideration deadline (full-time undergrad), Jan 15, 2027 (same day as Final application deadline (OUAC))
  • U of T Life Sciences (St. George) Application deadline (St. George Arts & Science), Jan 15, 2027 (same day as Final application deadline (OUAC))
  • UTM Life Sciences Application deadline (U of T Mississauga), Jan 15, 2027 (same day as Final application deadline (OUAC))
  • U of T KPE OUAC application deadline (shared with Engineering, Arts & Science, and most other St. George faculties), Jan 15, 2027 (same day as Final application deadline (OUAC))
  • McMaster Engineering I Supplementary application deadline (high-school applicants), Jan 28, 2027 (4 days from Final supplemental + documents deadline)
  • McMaster iBioMed Supplementary application deadline, Jan 28, 2027 (4 days from Final supplemental + documents deadline)
  • McMaster Engineering I Supplementary application deadline (high-school applicants), Jan 28, 2027 (13 days from Final application deadline (OUAC))
  • McMaster iBioMed Supplementary application deadline, Jan 28, 2027 (13 days from Final application deadline (OUAC))
  • Waterloo Engineering AIF, Online Interview and all supporting documents, Feb 1, 2027 (same day as Final supplemental + documents deadline)
  • Queen's Commerce Application deadline — Commerce, Health Sci and Nursing only, Feb 1, 2027 (same day as Final supplemental + documents deadline)
  • U of T Life Sciences (St. George) Documents deadline (St. George Arts & Science), Feb 1, 2027 (same day as Final supplemental + documents deadline)
  • UTM Life Sciences Documents deadline (U of T Mississauga), Feb 1, 2027 (same day as Final supplemental + documents deadline)
  • Queen's Health Sciences Application deadline for Commerce, Health Sciences and Nursing, Feb 1, 2027 (same day as Final supplemental + documents deadline)
  • Waterloo Kinesiology Application deadline, Feb 1, 2027 (same day as Final supplemental + documents deadline)
  • U of T KPE Supporting documents deadline, Feb 1, 2027 (same day as Final supplemental + documents deadline)
  • U of T KPE Statement of Interest deadline, Feb 1, 2027 (same day as Final supplemental + documents deadline)
  • Queen's Commerce Supplementary Application deadline, Feb 15, 2027 (14 days from Final supplemental + documents deadline)
  • Queen's Health Sciences Supplementary application deadline, Feb 15, 2027 (14 days from Final supplemental + documents deadline)
  • Waterloo Kinesiology Documents deadline, Feb 15, 2027 (14 days from Final supplemental + documents deadline)
  • Queen's Commerce All documents due — transcripts, English test scores, Mar 31, 2027 (same day as Residence (StarRez) application for the housing guarantee)
  • Queen's Health Sciences All documents due, Mar 31, 2027 (same day as Residence (StarRez) application for the housing guarantee)
  • McMaster iBioMed iBioMed documents due, Apr 1, 2027 (1 days from Residence (StarRez) application for the housing guarantee)
  • McMaster Kinesiology Application deadline for 2027 entry, Apr 1, 2027 (1 days from Residence (StarRez) application for the housing guarantee)
  • Queen's Commerce Response deadline for Ontario high school students, Jun 1, 2027 (same day as Accept your offer to keep the housing guarantee)
  • Queen's Health Sciences Ontario high school response deadline, Jun 1, 2027 (same day as Accept your offer to keep the housing guarantee)
  • Queen's Commerce Upper-year Commerce transfers — supplementary application, Jun 15, 2027 (14 days from Accept your offer to keep the housing guarantee)
  • Queen's Health Sciences Upper-year transfer (QHQ) supplementary — platform opens first week of March, due 15 June, Jun 15, 2027 (14 days from Accept your offer to keep the housing guarantee)

03

Supplementary application

Rotman Commerce Supplemental Application required and submitted through the general Join U of T portal, not the Engineering Applicant Portal. It includes a written component plus a required asynchronous video interview. The interview is self-recorded rather than live and cannot be restarted once begun (not stated by Rotman).
UnconfirmedSources disagree

Written + video, Kira and unlimited practice are official; "cannot be restarted" is community-reported.

Rotman Commerce Supplemental Application

A supplementary application is required.

Platform

Kira Talent, via the Join U of T portal

Rotman privacy note names Kira Talent, "a company that provides an online platform for video interviews and essays".

Fee

$52 fee, paid with your OUAC application (OUInfo still says $51)
ContradictionSources disagree

Weighting

"will be considered alongside your academic record when evaluating you for admission." No rubric, score bands or percentages are published.
Not individually verified

Naming

U of T calls it a Supplemental Application (Queen's and McMaster say "Supplementary").
Not individually verified

Format published

"Detailed instructions about the format of the Supplemental Application will be available to applicants through the Join U of T portal. Applicants will have access to unlimited practice sessions." Rotman confirms only short written + video responses, on Kira, with unlimited practice.

Restart rule

The interview is self-recorded rather than live and cannot be restarted once begun (not stated by Rotman).
CommunityUnconfirmed

Checked against Rotman's Supplemental Application page (S_ROTMAN_SUPP, 17 Sept 2026): it says nothing about restarts, retakes or attempts. No named source for the restart rule.

What they look for

  • "Your grades are important, but so are your extracurricular activities, your capacity to learn and to lead, and your ability to express yourself."
    Not individually verified
  • "...students that have demonstrated academic excellence, along with excellent communication skills, have an understanding of teamwork, leadership and community, and a passion for the world of business."
    Not individually verified
  • "You can think of the Supplemental Application as an interview of sorts."
    Not individually verified

04

Required courses

  • ENG4U
  • MCV4U"Special attention will be given to MCV4U, as it is a prerequisite for admission"
  • Five additional 4U/M coursesnot checkable
ENG4U, MCV4U — required; five additional 4U/M courses; six courses total. No published minimum marks on individual courses.
Not individually verified

05

Averages

Published minimum

No published cutoff
Not officially published as a hard cutoff. U of T states mid to high 80s or above as the recommended overall admission range, and OUInfo lists the grade range as mid to high 80s.
Not individually verified

Grade ranges

  • Rotman CommerceMid to high 80s recommended range; English high 80s, Calculus high 80sU of T Arts & Science
    U of T Arts & Science, Ontario HS requirements — Mid to high 80s recommended range; English high 80s, Calculus high 80s
    Not individually verified
  • Rotman Commerce"top 5% of their class"; minimum overall average in the mid-high 80sRotman
    Rotman "What We Look For" — "top 5% of their class"; minimum overall average in the mid-high 80s
    Not individually verified
  • Rotman Commercemid-high 80s or above, across all Grade 11 and 12 U/M coursesRotman
    Rotman Ontario applicants page — mid-high 80s or above, across all Grade 11 and 12 U/M courses
    Not individually verified
  • Rotman Commerce (TAC)Mid to high 80sOUInfo
    OUInfo — Grade range Mid to high 80s

    OUInfo TAC re-opened 17 Sept 2026: "Grade range Mid to high 80s".

Applicant-reported — not official

  • Community-reported competitive averages are generally higher, often in the low to mid 90s; these figures are anecdotal rather than official cutoffs.
    CommunityCommunity unverified

06

Traps

07

Additional details

Admission structure

How to actually apply: OUAC → University of Toronto → Faculty of Arts & Science, St. George → then select Rotman Commerce from the program list. It is an A&S admission category, not a separate faculty application.
Not individually verified

Alternate offer

"If you selected the Computer Science or Rotman Commerce admission categories, you will have the option of selecting a second admission category for consideration on the JOIN U of T portal. Selecting a second admission category does not affect eligibility for your first-choice category. Admission is subject to space availability and will be evaluated after all first-choice applicants have been considered."

Quoted from U of T Arts & Science in the PDF; not individually re-opened.

Grade 11 counts

"All Grade 11 and 12 U/M courses may be considered by the admissions committee. At minimum, an overall average of all grade 11 and 12 courses in the mid-high 80s or above is recommended."
Not individually verified

Single-attempt preference

"Rotman Commerce reserves the right to give preference to students whose marks are the result of a single attempt at each course."
Not individually verified

Day-school courses encouraged

"While there may be valid reasons for taking courses outside of your day school, we encourage students to take courses in their day school where possible."
Not individually verified

Document processing lag

After applying you get a U of T confirmation email with your JOINid/UTORid and Applicant Number. Rotman warns it may take up to three weeks for documents to process and appear on JOIN U of T.
Not individually verified

Supplemental Application fee

$52 fee, paid with your OUAC application (OUInfo still says $51; older guides say $50 — it goes up yearly)
ContradictionSources disagree

OUInfo TAC re-opened 17 Sept 2026: "An additional fee of $51 is required."

09

What the university hasn't published

  • Minimum average: no published cutoff

10

Where sources disagree

  • Rotman Commerce supplemental fee: $52 (Rotman, OUAC) vs $51 (OUInfo)

    unresolved

    • Rotman Commerce — Our Supplemental Application

      "There is a $52 Supplemental Application fee, paid with the submission of your OUAC application."

    • OUAC — Undergraduate Fees

      Rotman Commerce "$52"

    • OUInfo TAC (re-opened 17 Sept 2026)

      "An online Rotman Commerce Supplemental Application must be completed. An additional fee of $51 is required."

  • Rotman Commerce: what happens if you miss the 1 December early deadline

    explained

    • Rotman Commerce — Important Dates page (as quoted in the PDF)

      "Due to the intensive review process, submitting after this time means we may not be able to consider your application until after the March round of admissions decisions." / "*Note: All Ontario secondary school applicants are treated equally during the assessment process so long as their supporting documents are received by the regular deadline."

    • Rotman Commerce — Ontario High School Applicants page (as quoted in the PDF)

      "...submitting after this time means we may not be able to consider your application until April or May." / "Ontario applicants will be evaluated throughout the spring…"

    PDF reading (editorial): for Ontario high school students the asterisk applies — assessed equally if documents are in by Feb 1; safe advice remains to hit December 1. Unresolved; worth an email to Rotman recruitment.

  • Rotman supplemental page: "Applications for September 2027 will open in the fall of 2025"

    explained

    • Rotman Commerce — Our Supplemental Application (re-read 17 Sept 2026)

      "Applications for September 2027 will open in the fall of 2025."

    • Rotman Commerce — Our Supplemental Application / Important Dates

      The same page gives 2026–27 dates: early consideration November 7, 2026; documents December 1, 2026; final deadline January 15, 2027; final documents February 1, 2027 (11:59 PM EST).

  • PDF says Rotman's video is "strongly recommended"; elsewhere it is required

    unresolved

    • PDF p.15 (Waterloo supplementary section)

      Both are "required for admission" according to Waterloo's own language. This is not a "strongly recommended" situation like Rotman's video.

    • PDF p.10 (Rotman reference)

      It includes a written component plus a required asynchronous video interview.

    • Rotman Commerce — Our Supplemental Application

      "The application includes short written and video responses which give us the opportunity to get to know you better." (the Supplemental Application is required of every applicant)

    No official Rotman page checked calls the video "strongly recommended" (that phrase is OUInfo's wording for Waterloo's interview — see K01). Found while building programs.json; the PDF text was not changed.

  • PDF: "Rotman is the only one of our five with a real fallback"

    unresolved

    • PDF p.73–74 (editorial)

      THE ALTERNATIVE OFFER — Rotman is the only one of our five with a real fallback … it is the only built-in safety net across the five programs.

    • PDF p.22

      Waterloo has a limited safety-net system … one alternate Engineering program if rejected from their first choice (Engineering Program Alternate Choice form).

    • PDF p.36 (U of T Engineering)

      Applicants rank at least 2 and up to 4 Engineering programs within the same OSP. This creates a built-in safety-net system.

    • PDF p.52 (McMaster Engineering)

      Fall 2027 change: applicants rank up to two choices (a program or the Discovery Track)

    The comparison on p.74 lists only Queen's, Western and McMaster; the Engineering programs covered earlier in the same document do have application-time alternates. Found while building programs.json; not changed in the PDF.

  • Rotman Commerce supplemental format: the three community sources disagree on counts and timings

    explained

    • Youthfully

      Written 2 × 200 words, 20 min each; 2 videos; set video 60s prep + 60s; random video 60s prep + 60s; 6 questions (2 admin)

    • MYLS

      Written 2 × 200 words, 20 min each; 2 videos; set video 30s prep + 45s; random video 60s prep + 60s; 4 questions

    • GrantMe

      Written 3 × 20 min each; 2 videos; set video 45s record; random video 60s prep + 60s; 5 questions

    PDF: they disagree on the count but agree on the shape (set + random, written + video). Publish the shape and say the exact count varies by year and isn't published.

11

Sources